Skip to content
Powys Counts — Powys, in numbers.Local help →

Powys, in numbers

People and living standards

Powys council area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Powys council area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 119,703 in 1991 to 134,843 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Powys council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 123,954 people in 1996; 134,843 people in 2025. 8.8% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Powys council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991119,703
1992120,368
1993121,072
1994121,400
1995121,843
1996123,954
1997124,604
1998125,438
1999125,632
2000126,134
2001126,398
2002127,145
2003128,295
2004129,568
2005130,210
2006131,037
2007131,982
2008132,865
2009133,090
2010132,878
2011133,071
2012133,146
2013132,719
2014132,809
2015132,945
2016132,531
2017132,460
2018131,967
2019131,556
2020132,199
2021133,521
2022133,860
2023134,550
2024134,855
2025134,843
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Powys council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 24,288 people in 1996; 20,108 people in 2025. 17.2% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Powys council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199123,281
199223,457
199323,656
199423,757
199523,888
199624,288
199724,322
199824,363
199924,456
200024,528
200124,475
200224,505
200324,532
200424,440
200524,281
200624,143
200723,788
200823,606
200923,309
201022,923
201122,761
201222,373
201322,043
201421,831
201521,496
201621,120
201721,053
201820,827
201920,660
202020,614
202120,603
202220,660
202320,524
202420,338
202520,108
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Powys council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 75,728 people in 1996; 74,840 people in 2025. 1.2% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Powys council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199173,696
199273,895
199374,176
199474,227
199574,337
199675,728
199776,046
199876,599
199976,553
200076,607
200176,641
200277,043
200377,852
200478,839
200579,242
200679,766
200780,449
200880,769
200980,510
201080,012
201179,783
201279,000
201377,960
201477,396
201577,326
201676,775
201776,377
201875,584
201974,761
202074,840
202175,565
202275,345
202375,625
202475,408
202574,840
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Powys council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 23,938 people in 1996; 39,895 people in 2025. 66.7% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Powys council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199122,726
199223,016
199323,240
199423,416
199523,618
199623,938
199724,236
199824,476
199924,623
200024,999
200125,282
200225,597
200325,911
200426,289
200526,687
200627,128
200727,745
200828,490
200929,271
201029,943
201130,527
201231,773
201332,716
201433,582
201534,123
201634,636
201735,030
201835,556
201936,135
202036,745
202137,353
202237,855
202338,401
202439,109
202539,895
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 133,169 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Powys · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh1,2470.9%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African2210.2%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups1,1350.9%
White130,16097.7%
Other ethnic group4060.3%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 132,976 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Powys · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White130,82798.4%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups7600.6%
Asian/Asian British1,1420.9%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British1320.1%
Other ethnic group1150.1%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 126,354 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Powys · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White125,26899.1%
Mixed4290.3%
Asian/Asian British3630.3%
Black/Black British1000.1%
Chinese/Other1940.2%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 11.2% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Powys council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £9,257 per person in 1997; £23,047 per person in 2024. 149% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Powys council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
19979,257
19989,120
19999,733
200010,700
200111,047
200211,392
200311,769
200412,471
200512,880
200613,294
200713,584
200814,238
200914,419
201014,967
201114,916
201215,267
201315,456
201415,758
201516,072
201616,098
201717,365
201817,962
201918,330
202018,657
202119,464
202219,863
202321,415
202423,047
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Powys council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -12.8% in 1997; -11.2% in 2024. 1.6 percentage points higher.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Powys council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-12.8
1998-15.8
1999-14
2000-10.1
2001-10.7
2002-10
2003-9.7
2004-8.1
2005-8.4
2006-9.2
2007-11.5
2008-9.6
2009-9.9
2010-7.3
2011-8.5
2012-9.6
2013-11.8
2014-12.9
2015-15.5
2016-16.4
2017-11.9
2018-12
2019-13
2020-11.1
2021-10.9
2022-13.5
2023-12.4
2024-11.2
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

54.9%

21 March 2021 · Powys council area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

16.8%

21 March 2021 · Powys council area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

18.9%

21 March 2021 · Powys council area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

5.9%

21 March 2021 · Powys council area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£238,000

July 2026 · Powys council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£621

August 2026 · Powys council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.